

ARIZONA BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

4205 N. 7th Avenue, Suite 305 Phoenix, Arizona 85013 (602) 589-8352 FAX: (602) 589-8354

Regular Session Minutes

March 11, 2011

Board Members Present: Rebecca Grabski, OTA, Chair

John Tutelman, Vice - Chair, Public Member

Laura Beckman, OTR Member Deborah Devine, Public Member

Christine Feltman Rosenberg, OTR Member

Staff Present: J. Randy Frost, Executive Director

Vicki Egurrola, Administrative Assistant

Legal Representative: Montgomery Lee, Assistant Attorney General

Call to Order

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Arizona State Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners was called to order at 1:31 p.m. Rebecca Grabski, Chair presiding.

Roll Call

All Board members were present.

Approval of Minutes

Regular Session Minutes of February 4, 2011

The Board tabled the February 4 meeting minutes to the next meeting on April 8, 2011.

Executive Session Meeting Minutes of February 4, 2011

John Tutelman moved to approve the executive session meeting minutes from February 4th. Laura Beckman Seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

Declaration of Conflicts

There are no conflicts at this time.

Review Meeting Schedule

The Board reviewed the meeting schedule for

April 8, 2011 May 13, 2011 June 10, 2011

There were no conflicts with the upcoming meeting schedule.

a. <u>Initial Review of New Complaints</u>

There were no new complaints before the board.

b. Open Complaints/Investigations

The Board staff updated the Board members on the two open complaints currently before the Board. Staff explained that they are currently contacting witnesses and should be ready to discuss the complaints at the April 8, 2011 Board meeting.

- 1. Kordell Howell, OTA-10-3939
- 2. Melanie Conatser, OT-11-3009

c. Complaint Action Status Report

The Board reviewed and discussed the Complaint Action Report.

- 1. Susan Nesbit, 09-OT-4090
- 2. Tracy Schultze, 10-OTA-3712
- 3. Cheryl Collins-Williams 10-OT-0466
- 4. Kimberly Ann Olson, 11-OTA-2296

<u>Substantive Review, Discussion, and Vote Re: Applications for Licenses as</u> Follows:

a. Initial Application

Jennifer Allenstein	Amanda Andrews	Jena Bohl	Tony Botelho
Elizabeth Cardoza	Jacqueline Casolare	Lynn Cipriani	Janina Czuba
Patrice de Peiza	Alex DeRyan	Rachael Feierstein	Emily Green
Carol Hawthorne	Jennifer Klaine	Sara Kolb	Marieke Lewis
Kathryn McCune	Amy Merckle	Kendra Mitchell	Nicole Moore
Gwendolyn Morales	Melissa Motorozesku	Kari Nelson	Desirae Reyes
Steven Slade	Derek Somerville	Kristen Sykes	Claudia Taylor
Lynn Telson	Meghan Thompson	Katie Ward	Renee Warthman
Emily Wegley	Casey Zitelli		•

John Tutelman moved to approve the 34 initial applications on the list. Deborah Devine seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

b. Renewal of Licenses

Mollie Allen	Chantal Audet	Michele Bates	Sharon Bisbing
Jeffrey Butler	Anne Carlsson	Bonnie Dalton	Ann DeFrancis
Sarah Epperson	Carrie Fancher	Bethzaida Figueroa	Deidre Firkins
Ellen Fountain	Jacqueline Fox	Michael Gallo	Andrea Guzman
Dena Hargis	JoAnn Jackson	Linda Jackson	Amanda Jarles
Antonio Jaster	Julie Kaplan	Kristine Kath	Michael Kennedy
Tracey Kruse	Peggy McCahan	Vivienne Meanger	Barbara Morris
Valerie Neal	Tenesa Nielsen	Kristie Porter	Giovanni Priano
Kristin Rodgers		·	·
Sara Rogers	Claire Roveto	Jennifer Sanchez	Kerry Sangiovanni
Matthew Schetter	Linda Schlenker	Heather Schraufnagel	Heather Seder
Brent Sherwood	Audrey Sigurdson	Matthew Simon	Lori Sletten
Deborah Smeed	Kristin Springborn	Dawn Steinfort	Sarah Stoll
Susan Strope	Michael Swindler	Joel Tagle	Leanne Taylor
Ruth Tremaine	Keith Vogel	Jen Wang	Osborne Watkins III
Melissa Weir	Ann Werlwas	Rodica Wesley	Sharon Wiant
Jeffrev Winslow			

Deborah Devine moved to approve all of the renewal applications listed. Christine FeltmanRosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

The Board reviewed and discussed the renewal application of Joel Tagle license 4237. Following the discussion, John Tutelman moved to open a complaint against Mr. Tagle for continuing to practice while his license had lapsed and to issue a consent agreement for a decree of censure. Mr. Tagle will have 30 days from the date of acceptance of the consent agreement to notify all clients and insurance companies that he had provided Occupational Therapy services while his license was expired. Mr. Tagle must provide proof within 30 days of acceptance. Deborah Devine seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

b. Limited Permits

Kyri Lancaster Ste	hanie Reynolds	Rebecca Waters
--------------------	----------------	----------------

Laura Beckman moved to approve the limited permits listed. Deborah Devine seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

Review, discussion and Possible Action on Administrative Matters

a. Revenue and expenditure report

The Board reviewed and discussed the revenue and expenditure report.

b. Administrative Project Status Report

The Board reviewed and discussed the Administrative Project Status Report

Other Board Business

a. Statute/Rule Sub Committee Update. The Board discussed an e-mail received from ARIZOTA regarding members who were interested in participating in a review of the

Boards statutes and rules. The subcommittee has a rough draft of the language that deals with student supervision that can be distributed for input. The Board directed staff to send the draft to the ARIZOTA volunteers and to also direct them to the Boards website.

b. Correspondence regarding use of telecommunication technology.

The Board reviewed and discussed the correspondence regarding the use of telecommunication technology, following the discussion the Board directed staff to send a letter to inform the occupational therapist that the Statutes and Rules are being looked into at this time and as for now; individuals must comply with the current Statutes and Rules.

Agenda items for next month's meeting – if any.

Call to the Public

A call for public comment was issued. No public addressed the Board at this time.

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business before the Board. The meeting adjourned at 2:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Randy Frost Executive Director