

ARIZONA BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

4205 N. 7th Avenue, Suite 305 Phoenix, Arizona 85013 (602) 589-8352 FAX: (602) 589-8354

Regular Session Minutes

October 14, 2011

Board Members Present: Rebecca Grabski, OTA, Chair

John Tutelman, Vice - Chair, Public Member

Laura Beckman, OTR Member

Christine Feltman Rosenberg, OTR Member

Staff Present: J. Randy Frost, Executive Director

Vicki Egurrola, Administrative Assistant

Legal Representative: Monty Lee, Assistant Attorney General

Call to Order

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Arizona State Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners was called to order at 1:30 p.m. Rebecca Grabski, Chair, presiding.

Roll Call

All Board members were present.

Approval of Minutes

Regular Session Minutes September 16, 2011

John Tutelman moved to approve the September 16, 2011 regular session meeting minutes as amended. Christine Feltman Rosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

Declaration of Conflicts

Rebecca Grabski recused herself from agenda item 6 (a)(1)

Review Meeting Schedule

The Board reviewed the meeting schedule for:

November 18, 2011 December 9, 2011 January 13, 2011

The Board moved the January meeting to Friday, January 20, 2012.

a. Initial Review of New Complaints

1. Dena Hargis, 11-OT-1999, John Tutelman, Vice – Chair presided and called on Dena Hargis to address the Board. Ms. Hargis was not in attendance. Mr. Tutelman then called for The Herrmanns, who filed the complaint, to address the Board. The Herrmanns were also not present. The Board Members had numerous questions regarding the complaint and since the allegations were serious felt that questions needed to be asked of the partys involved. Christine Feltman Rosenberg moved that the Board open a complaint, set it for an informal interview and invite the parties involved to address the Board. Laura Beckman seconded the motion. The motion passed 3-0. Rebecca Grabski recused herself.

b. Open Complaints/Investigations

There were no new open complaints at this time.

c. Complaint Action Status Report

The Board discussed the Complaint Action Status Report of the following licensees:

- 1. Susan Nesbit, 09-OT-4090, No Change as of 10/14/11.
- 2. Tracy Schultze, 10-OTA-3712, No Change as of 10/14/11.
- Joel Tagle, 11-OTA-4237, Mr. Tagle's place of employment was informed that his license was revoked.
- Melanie Conaster, 11-OT-3009, Copies of her Board ordered documentation were received.

<u>Substantive Review, Discussion, and Vote Re: Applications for Licenses as</u> Follows:

a. Initial Application

Trinette Brewer	Yvonne Bueno	Frances Crites
Anna Damaso	Glenn DeLaCruz	Amy Erfurth
Connie Garcia	Tamara Hainline	Katie Holly
Louise Johnson	Debra Kildahl	Hilda Legua
Kristen Lueck	Beth Ann Maloney	Kathleen Mann
Brynn Nealon	Aggie Ochs	Heather Palmer
Kelly Palmer	Rebeca Park	Sarah Perry
Erik Pool	Claire Ryan	Patricia Self
Regina Snyder	Erin Torres	Kaiya Tway
Meghan Zimmer		

Laura Beckman moved to approve the 28 initial applications listed. Rebecca Grabski seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

b. Renewal of Licenses

Sarah Badger	Amy Betts	Rita Borens		
Scott Busby	Marilyn Cabay	Jessica Campbell		
Michelle Cole	Jacqueline Conway	Janet Curran		
Janice Dedrich	Rebecca Dillard	Suzanne Doods		
Eric Dorf	Jodi Duecker	Jennifer Dupay		
Charles Esquivel	Laurie Feest	La Lana Fennell		

Sara Fleishman-Nelson	Renee Forster	Michele Foutz
Christine Foy	Teri Friedland	Kimberly Fritz
Diane Garcia	Mary Good	Darla Goodman
Garth Gruenhagen	Tifany Guy	Helene Hanson
Kimberly Hanson	Laurie Hawley	Lori Hickman
Sonya Hoffmann	Sandra Jensen	Lynn Johnson
Brenda Kania	Sherry Karp	Barbara Kyte
Hilary Lace	Nancy Lambertsen	Melinda Lewis
Cheryl Littleton	Roslyn Locker	Erik Markoff
Betty Naylor	Julianne Nienas	Dana Oken
Ada Pastor	Bernadette Pierson	Cambria Priebe
Nancy Pruter	Michael Rabasca	Teri Rabasca
Nancy Reyes	Albert Rodriguez	Karen Roessler
Debbie Rolan	Charlotte Satterwaite	Sarah Scofinsky
Dana Seiss	Nancy Skodiak	Diane Sparks
Lynn Strom	Charles Stuart	Lori Taylor
Debra Tew	Mary Jo Todd	Shelly Unruh
Jenna Verelius	Darlene Von Au	Lynn Wilkinson
Anne Williams	Beth Williamson	Beata Winogrodzka

John Tutelman moved to approve the 75 renewal applications listed. Christine Feltman Rosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

c. Limited Permits

Paul Cagle	Roberta Garza	Lindsy LeSueur
Andrew Schuman	Britta Walsh	

Rebecca Grabski moved to approve the 5 limited permit applicants listed. Laura Beckman seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

Review, Discussion and Possible Action on Administrative Matters

a. Revenue and Expenditure Report

The Board was presented with an update on the revenue picture.

b. Administrative Project Status Report

The Board reviewed and discussed the Administrative Project Status.

c. Correspondence received from Brigit Anderson OT, License # 3741

The correspondence was reviewed and noted by the Board. It was determined that no other action was required.

Other Board Business

a. Proposed state statute revisions.

The proposed statute revisions drafted by the rule/statute work group and revised during a separate meeting were presented and discussed. The Board discussed ad hoc committees and their make up as well as other sections of the proposed revisions. Monty Lee, Assistant Attorney General, Informed the Board that ad hoc committees

cannot be made up by a majority of the Board Members but two Board Members on a committee is allowed. The Board also discussed fees in statute and Board duties. After the discussion Laura Beckman moved that the Board accept the proposed statute revisions and John Tutelman offered an amendment to the motion to forward the revisions to Montgomery Lee, Assistant Attorney General for technical review. John Tutelman then seconded the amended motion. The motion passed 4-0

Agenda items for next meeting – if any

There were no new agenda items.

Call to the Public

There weren't any public members wishing to address the Board.

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business before the Board. John Tutelman moved to adjourn the meeting. Laura Beckman seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

The meeting adjourned at 3:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Randy Frost Executive Director