

#### ARIZONA BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

4205 N. 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 305 Phoenix, Arizona 85013 (602) 589-8352 FAX: (602) 589-8354

## **Regular Session Minutes**

July 15, 2011

Board Members Present: Rebecca Grabski, OTA, Chair

John Tutelman, Vice - Chair, Public Member

Laura Beckman, OTR Member

Christine Feltman Rosenberg, OTR Member

Deborah Devine, Public Member

**Staff Present**: J. Randy Frost, Executive Director

Vicki Egurrola, Administrative Assistant

**Legal Representative**: Monty Lee, Assistant Attorney General

## Call to Order

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Arizona State Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners was called to order at 1:30 p.m. Rebecca Grabski, Chair presiding.

#### Roll Call

All Board members were present.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

## Regular Session Minutes of June 17, 2011

John Tutelman moved to approve the June 17, 2011 regular session meeting minutes as amended. Christine Feltman Rosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

## **Executive Session Minutes of June 17, 2011**

Deborah Devine moved to approve the June 17, 2011 executive session meeting minutes. Christine Feltman Rosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

## **Declaration of Conflicts**

None

## **Review Meeting Schedule**

The Board reviewed the meeting schedule for

August 12, 2011 September 16, 2011

There were no conflicts with the revised meeting schedule.

## a. Initial Review of New Complaints

There were no new complaints at this time.

## b. Open Complaints/Investigations

#### Informal Interviews

There were no informal interviews.

## c. Complaint Action Status Report

The Board discussed the Complaint Action Status Report of the following licensees:

- 1. Susan Nesbit, 09-OT-4090, Staff reported that they are still waiting for the Attorney General's Office to forward the forms required to start the process.
- 2. Tracy Schultze, 10-OTA-3712, No change in status.
- 3. Joel Tagle, 11-OTA-4237, Staff informed the Board that a formal hearing for Mr. Tagle has been set for August 12, 2011 and that the Notice of Hearing was sent to Mr. Tagle and that he signed the green card.
- 4. Melanie Conaster, 11-OT-3009, Board staff informed the Board that the consent agreement offered Ms. Conaster was signed, returned and executed on July 15<sup>,</sup> 2011 and that the formal interview requested last meeting would not be necessary.
- 5. Cynthia Gutierres Check, 11-OT-3076, Board staff informed the Board that the consent agreement offered Ms. Gutierres Check was signed, returned and executed on July 14<sup>-</sup>2011.

# <u>Substantive Review, Discussion, and Vote Re: Applications for Licenses as Follows:</u>

## a. Initial Application

Megan Andree	Lynn Brown	Beth Diener
Anne Farnsworth	Sally Hamilton	Jacqueline Harris
Patricia Heese	Laura Kling	Andrea Kress
Babette Lawrence	Pablo Mata	Laura Miller

Dana Nicholls	Wade Pellatt	Tammy Prevatke
Michelle Satterthwaite	Tierra Tellez	Mariana Way
Michael Welker	Lynn Marie Witt	

John Tutelman moved to approve the 20 initial applications listed. Deborah Devine seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

# b. Renewal of Licenses

Helenann Adams	Delphine Alexander	Angela Anzelmo
Amy Armstrong	Darren Asato	Teresa Baehner
Mellonna Beckermann	Kristina Berry	James Bilder
Catherine Brandon	Jay Brashear	Amanda Cage
John Canyock	Erik Carlson	Kimberly Carpenter
Tara Cerveny	Karen Cleeves-Estabrook	Cynthia Cooper
George Culbertson	David D'Ambrosio	Patricia Daniels
April Darley	Lori DeLabio	Dipali Devani
Lori Dillon	Maria Dillon	Susan Doolin
Dina Eck	Richard Ellsworth	Katrina Escalada-Westland
Judith Evans	Trina Feliciano	Janette Fiske
Melanie Ford	Sara Foss	Connie Gardner
Deena Gauharou	Donna Gilbert	Leigh Goodman
Mary Greer	Heidi Gummel	TeAnna Hall
Katie Helmeid	Janet Hicks	Martin Holly
Julie Johnson	Teresa Karjalainen	Cheryl Keller
Quinchel Kent	Jacquelyn Kinavey	Sonya Klune
Darci Komac	Marilyn Laughlin	Joshua MacDonald
Gail Magdalena	Cheryl Markham	Linda Martin
Trent Maruyama	Jessica Medina	Mary Meldrim
Christina Mulhall	Cheryl Nelson	Julie Nelson
Wendy Nivison	Andrea Nuzzo	Frank Olaje
Rebecca Parmeter-Harris	Jeanette Peiffer	Janet Persen
Cheryl Platt	Carolyn Plemons	Lorraine Pratt
Anne Prengel	Elizabeth Reymann	Phyllis Rooker
Mauricio Salazar	Robert Schmitt	Jana Scow
Aaron Shamblin	Melissa Shockley	Dorian Snyder-Stonebraker
Linda Song	Jane Steffen	Pamela Suma
Marjan Terhorst	Anthony Tillman	Esther Toney
Karen Urbanski	Tricia White	Melisa Wilson

Deborah Devine moved to approve all of the renewal applications listed. John Tutelman seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

## c. Limited Permits

Me'gan Baugh	Mary Bonvicino	Monica Gonzales
Xhemile Haruni	Quenton McCallister	Victor Ornelas
Rebecca Waters	Amanda Wheelock	Mary Wills
Aubresca Zimmer		

Rebecca Grabski moved to approve the limited permit applicants listed. Christine Feltman Rosenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

## Review, discussion and Possible Action on Administrative Matters

a. Revenue and expenditure report

The Board was presented an update on the revenue picture.

b. Administrative Project Status Report

The Board reviewed and discussed the Administrative Project Status. The Board directed staff to add work on a decision matrix for next meeting and to add revision of the Board data base to administrative projects.

#### **Other Board Business**

Statute/Rule work group Update.

Laura Beckman updated the Board on the work group's progress. The work group will meet on August 12 to finalize proposed changes. A draft document will be ready for the September meeting.

## Agenda items for next month's meeting – if any.

No new agenda items were added

# **Call to the Public**

Deborah Devine was recognized for her 7.5 years of service on the Board. Ms. Divine officially retired from the Board.

#### **Adjournment**

There being no further business before the Board. Deborah Devine moved to adjourn the meeting. John Tutelman seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

The meeting adjourned at 2:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted.

J. Randy Frost Executive Director