Licensure by Examination
Application for Licensure by Examination
Complete an application for licensure by examination if all of the following apply:
- You've never held a license as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in Arizona or if it has been more than 180 days since your Arizona license expired.
- You have passed the NBCOT exam.
- You are not a new Arizona resident. (If you are, you may want to apply by universal license recognition.)
PRACTICE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF A LICENSE. APPLICANTS ARE URGED TO NOT ENTER INTO IRREVOCABLE CONTRACTS, PURCHASE, OR SALES AGREEMENTS ON THE ASSUMPTION THAT LICENSURE WILL BE GRANTED.
According to Arizona Administrative Code R4-43-205.C., the Board has 60 days to review applications for licensure.
Please read the statement regarding disclosure of criminal history prior to completing your application.
FOLLOW THESE STEPS TO APPLY FOR A LICENSE:
|1||Read the Board's Statutes and Rules. At the end of the application, you will attest that you have read these Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules and agree to be held accountable for any actions that may violate these Statutes and Rules.||About Us|
|2||Have your fingerprints rolled onto form FD-258, which can usually be obtained at your local law enforcement office. THE BOARD DOES NOT ACCEPT OR ISSUE FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE CARDS. Mail this card to the Board office (address below).||Fingerprint Card Instructions|
|3||Request a score transfer if you have not yet taken the NBCOT exam. If you have already passed the exam, complete the online request for verification of your certification.||NBCOT Services|
|4||Obtain professional recommendations from two health professionals.||Recommendation Form|
|5||Complete your Statement of Citizenship form. (Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation to the license agency that satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant’s presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.)||Statement of Citizenship|
|6||Scan the document that proves your citizenship status.||List of Accepted Documents|
|7||Request verification of licensure from all states you have held a medical professional license, including those that are expired. You may use the forms provided by the other states, or our form. Verification must come DIRECTLY from the state. YOU MUST LIST ALL LICENSES YOU HAVE HELD (CURRENT AND EXPIRED) ON YOUR APPLICATION. FAILURE TO DO SO WILL RESULT IN A DELAY IN PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION.||Verification of Licensure|
|8||Scan all of the completed forms into separate files. You will upload these documents to your online application.|
Complete the online application and pay your fees.
Total fees for Occupational Therapists: $257.00
Total fees for Occupational Therapy Assistants: $192.00
If you require a paper application, please send an email to [email protected] or call Vicki at 602-589-8352.
If you need a fingerprint clearance card for employment, go to https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/fingerprint